Author: Edwina Wyatt
Illustrator: Odette Barberousse
Publisher: Berbay
Published: April 2021
Format: Hardback, 191 pages
ISBN: 9780648953388

Review

Tish

Have you ever heard of Tish?

Tish, who was quick like a mongoose, but lazy like a bear?

Tish, who was heavy like a mammoth, but had a heart like a feather?

Tish, who had small, stumpy wings, and could almost-nearly fly?

Well, now you have.

This is the exquisite tale of an imaginary friend, desperate to be loved and the children whose beliefs make him real – at least for now.

CBCA Honour Award-winning author Edwina Wyatt has created a heart-warming story of friendship, longing and courage. Once you know Tish, you won’t ever forget him.

REVIEWS:

“Edwina Wyatt is one of my favourite authors…Tish is a gorgeous story about imaginary friends with a bitter sweet feeling to it. That universal story of needing to be loved and have friends, and finding new friends, and saying goodbye to old friends. It’s absolutely beautiful, gentle and heart-warming and highly, highly recommended reading. Beautiful read aloud for 7 – 10 year olds.”

– Megan Daley (Episode 7, Your Kid’s Next Read Podcast)

“Highly recommended. A delightful, bitter-sweet story about the qualities of friendship, of searching, finding, saying goodbye and hello and learning to know oneself. 

Stories like Tish are important for children as they talk of the universal need to be loved, the process of trying to adapt, trying to please and the development of confidence in what is important to oneself in a friend. Tish represents unrequited friendship, gentleness, hurt and goodness. A beautiful tale!”– ReadPlus

“You have heard of hygge, this is the book version and you need it in your life, library bookshelf stat! In true Edwina style, it is magical and fantastical full of otherworldly goodness that we simply devoured every word on the page. The illustrations are truly exquisite and full of the whimsy captured by Edwina! – Middle Grade Mavens

“A delight – profound and uplifting, sweet yet rough around the edges , and full of rich and playful language young readers will love.”– Multi-award winning author of The Grandest Bookshop in The World, Amelia Mellor

“Edwina Wyatt writes with such a dazzling sense of wonder. I simply adore her descriptive language. The opening sentence drew me into the world of Charles Dimple and Tish and then I was hooked. This story is full of heart, imaginary friends, friendship and loyalty…A wonderful book to read aloud to a class or together at bed time.”– A Librarian Who Wonders

“A loveable middle-grade fiction about an imaginary friend who is looking to fit in and find his place in the world. A comforting book about friendship, loneliness, freedom and fitting in, especially in our formative years.”– Better Read Than Dead

“Edwina Wyatt is a master storyteller, and in the space of a chapter can break your heart and then help put it back together again. Tish is such a special character who, like the children in the book, I am changed by knowing.  A story about friendship and letting go and finding the parts that make you you. All woven together with Wyatt’s deft writing and trademark warmth. A must read.” – Author, Kiah Thomas 

“The perfect cosy bedtime story. Grab a blanket and your little one and enjoy this heartwarming book.” – The Chestnut Tree Bookshop.

“An imaginative, well-written story, this book will appeal to kids who might feel they are misunderstood or being sidelined by their friends’ behaviour. Tish could provide a comfort to them, especially those in the 7–12 age bracket.” – Bookseller + Publisher

“Tish is a beautiful story about growing up and letting go…how the simple acts of caring and friendship can have a huge impact on our lives. It is beautifully and eloquently written…This story will be thoroughly enjoyed by those in the middle primary grades.” – Lamont

Key Selling Points

*A jaw-droppingly gorgeous read about having the power to imagine

*For fans of Katherine Applegate and Kate DiCamillo

*Written by the CBCA Honour winning author of The Secrets of Magnolia Moon and illustrated by debut French illustrator Aurélie Barbedette​

*Tish is the story of a lovable imaginary friend who is looking for his place in the world and finds it through his companionship with three different children who need him. It’s a story of friendship, goodbyes and longing, and a tale of having the confidence to believe

*Stunningly illustrated hardback edition making it the perfect gift

*Junior Fiction novel for ages 7-12

*Themes: Imaginary friends, Goodbyes, Finding identity, Courage.